Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-05-2013, 01:38 PM   #1
Forum Member

K-10D Sensor

Since I'm still a beginner in this forum, I'm entitled to at least three dumb questions. So here's the first.

Does anyone here actually know who made the CCD sensor used in K10D and the Samsung GX.10?
I take it it's not made by Kodak(?), but is it a Sony sensor, either?

03-05-2013, 01:48 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by EchoOscar Quote
Since I'm still a beginner in this forum, I'm entitled to at least three dumb questions. So here's the first.

Does anyone here actually know who made the CCD sensor used in K10D and the Samsung GX.10?
Samsung made it, that's why the camera ended up being rebadged. Guess why that partnership didn't last

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

03-05-2013, 02:11 PM   #3
Pentaxian

I don't personally believe it is clear cut. I tend to think that Sony made the sensor. My opinion aside, see here for further arguments on the topic:
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-dslr-discussion/105918-list-pentax...ml#post1090049
03-05-2013, 02:16 PM   #4
Forum Member

Original Poster
Thanks for the reply. I tried to find the tidbit, but didn't seem to find it.
I think the K10d was and still is one of the nicest and more interesting 'aging' DSLR's. Had they put a Kodak CCD sensor in it, it would probably still be a 'hidden gem' for all landscape shooters with a budget.

03-05-2013, 03:21 PM   #5
Pentaxian