Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-10-2013, 03:52 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Beginner Lightroom question

First let me say that I am quite new to most of this and I have been using the Lightroom 4 trial for a couple of weeks now. Admittedly, I have not had a chance to get a Lightroom book and truly learn how to use it properly.

Now, my question is in regards to the file size of jpegs that Lightroom exports. Let me explain what I have done to help paint the image of the question. A couple weeks ago I went out and shot a ton of photos of ducks and geese all shot in Raw (DNG) on the K-30. When I got home I loaded them up in Lightroom and sorted through the keepers. From there I played around with some of the tools in LR and cropped a good majority of the images and then exported them to jpegs. These files were usually around 1MB or slightly less. Most of the shots were with the K-30 and the DA 55-300mm lens along with a few taken with the DA 35mm f/2.4.

Now, the other day a friend was over and I decided to play around a little bit with taking some photos of her newborn baby. She wanted me to upload them so she could show her husband. No problem I thought. So, I do basically the same thing. I just wanted to do a quick conversion to jpeg so I could upload them so I loaded them up in LR and did an Auto tone on import. Then I exported them all to jpeg so I could upload them. That is when I realized that the files were all 12-15MB which is quite large. I also played a little with a shot of a squirrel I took this morning and it exported at around 6MB but it was cropped quite a bit so I would expect that. All of the baby photos were shot with the DA 35mm f/2.4 while the squirrel was shot with the DA 55-300mm.