Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-12-2013, 05:54 AM   #1

Catch in Focus and Lens Resolution [k-x]

Hey Everyone!

I have a few questions..
I've been shooting wildlife (mostly birds) for a few years now..
I've been using a 200mm f4 SMC Tak.
The issue is that I cannot seem to ever get a perfectly sharp photo...
I know right away its all about practice.. But i feel as if the lens may not be entirely sharp for whatever reason.
I find myself zooming in with Lightroom and not feeling like its sharp then upping the clarity to make it seem sharper.. (something I would rather not have to do....)

I went to a talk wildlife photography talk hosted by Christopher Dodds last Friday and he recommended that I try and do a lens resolution test..
Seems like there are all sorts of complicated jigs on the internet to do this type of thing..

Does anyone know a simple way to test this sort of thing?

Also,
I was hoping to enable the catch in focus function using my manual lenses hoping that may help me with my focusing issues...

I've set the auto focus to AF.S, Manual, Catch in focus on (2), Using aperture ring on (2)...
The shutter will fire despite the image not being in focus..

Thank you very much,
Some pictures below to illustrate my problems..

Alec

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 
03-12-2013, 05:57 AM   #2

Original Poster
That robin looks quite a bit sharper on my screen but still evidently nowhere near really sharp.
The loon got a thorough dosage of clarity adjustment in Lightroom..
03-12-2013, 06:42 AM   #3

Photos: Gallery