Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-17-2013, 05:24 AM   #1

Beginner needing help with night shots on ist D

Hi guys I am pretty new at this so don't laugh , I have a Pentax ist D that I have recently purchased 2nd hand, it seems like a decent beginners camera but I am a bit stuck on taking night shots, as I have a nice view from my home at night I want to capture it, please help....Cheers

03-17-2013, 05:43 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Hi, being a 10-year-old camera, the *ist D doesn't have great high ISO capabilities (read: it has a lot of noise), so your best bet would be a tripod + a remote control + long exposures (over 30 seconds long). I hope this helps.
03-17-2013, 05:58 AM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks for imput m8....as a beginner tho not sure how to achieve long exposures......also what is ISO capabilities? Cheers
03-17-2013, 06:21 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Well, simply put, proper exposure (brightness) is achieved by collecting enough light. This is done via 3 factors: the opening of the lens (aperture), exposure time (shutter speed) and sensitivity of the sensor itself (ISO speed). In order to achieve an equivalent exposure, if you decrease the ISO, you will have to either increase the aperture or the shutter speed. That's why a long exposure at low ISO (and thus less noise) can be a substitute for a short, hand-held exposure at high ISO.
There's much more to it, but I'd rather link you to Wikipedia than explain with my rather limited capabilities:
Shutter speed - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

03-17-2013, 06:28 AM   #5
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by 0408shadow Quote
I am a bit stuck on taking night shots
What type of shots? Long exposures will not be limited by high iso capabilities of the older technology sensor. If you are looking to freeze motion - that's where advancements have changed everything.

versus

03-17-2013, 06:30 AM   #6