Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-19-2013, 04:01 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Choosing Prime lenses

I've had a Pentax k-m DSLR for about 9 months now, with a kit Pentax SMC 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 DA lens and a Pentax SMC 80-200mm f4.7-5.6 FA. The former seems to produce fairly solid results and is a good "general purpose" lins, but I've found the results of the latter rather disappointing (and checking the lens reviews I find I'm nopt the only one!), and I'm thinking about getting some primes.

I'm not a complete novice (had a Ricoh film SLR back in the 90s), but I was using Fuji bridge cameras during my first digital days until last year. I'm not against using older manual focus lenses, what I'm after is clarity/sharpness and utility. I've found the lens reviews very helpful, but the real question here is utility - which lenses do people find they use most? I use my camaera for a LOT of different things - photographing small objects (macro), general family shots, wildlife, airshows etc, so I don't really have a "niche" as such. There's such a bewildering array of lenses avilable (including legacy lenses), which is great, but I need to be able to "chunk it down" somewhat!

I can't afford hundreds and hundreds of pounds to spend on lenses, so which 2-4 lens sizes would you recommend I focus on? Also, can you suggest what lens would be better for me than the 80-200 zoom?

03-19-2013, 04:57 AM   #2
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Highlands of Scotland... "Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand" - William Blake
Photos: Gallery
It's difficult as you seem to have a very wide genre to photograph, with me is much easier 15mm, 50mm, 85mm and 135mm probably cover 95% of what I do.

Have a look back at your recent images and see what focal lengths you been using the most on those zooms. Start there with nearest prime to match your most used focal length and go forward from there.

Welcome to LBA.