Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-21-2013, 06:55 PM   #1

lens hood

dumb question of the day. i have never used a lens hood before. when and why is one used? told you it was dumb.
thanks in advance,
charlie

03-21-2013, 07:01 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery
it increases the contrast of the lens, it lets you walk with the lens on rain without getting the front element wet..

that's why i use it
03-21-2013, 07:01 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by chashub Quote
dumb question of the day. i have never used a lens hood before. when and why is one used? told you it was dumb.
thanks in advance,
charlie
I keep one on all the time. They offer some degree of protection to the forward element. Their primary use is to prevent flares.
03-21-2013, 07:03 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It decreases stray light that can cause the image to look grayer (contrast issues), decreases the changes of abberations and flare, and protect the lens.

03-21-2013, 07:36 PM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I honestly used to think people were just using them to look "pro". Well, maybe they are, but the real reasons are outlined above. The hood doesn't need to be made of carbon fiber or anything special. It just shades the front of the lens against light. Ideally the shape of the hood blocks all the light that is just out of the photo. With a zoom lens, that has to be a compromise at the longer end. Older lenses may come with hoods designed for the wider field of view when the lens was used on a film camera. On APS-C digital, you can use a longer hood if you want. I like a hood that's easy to use - maybe reversable for storage or one that takes a lens cap on the end.
03-21-2013, 10:10 PM   #6
Veteran Member

There are several discussions going on about lens hood:

Pentax-M 50mm f1.4 at f1.4 sharpness fix.

Metal Hood Shape
03-22-2013, 04:41 AM - 1 Like   #7
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter