Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-25-2013, 09:16 AM   #1

ME super: can I use "M" lens in "auto" setting.

Hello there,
I recently was given a pentax me super camera from my aunt, I am new at film photography and today have been reading about different lenses to use with this camera. I am now very confused about the difference between the "m" lenses and the "a" lenses. The lens I have been using is the pentax- M 1.7 50 mm. And I of course have been using the automatic setting, being a beginner. But I seem to have read that the auto setting doesnt work with M lenses but only A lenses. Can someone please explain to me, in baby words, if this is true, what is the difference, will my M lens work?

also confusing, when using my camera in auto setting with this lens, the "M" always lights up green in my light meter. Does this mean I should be in manual mode or something? Or what does it mean? I feel like its an indicator that the auto setting wont work with the M lens.

03-25-2013, 09:42 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery | Albums
M lenses will work in auto mode with the ME Super. This is essentially Av mode (from DSLR world) - you set the aperture on the lens, and the shutter speed is set for proper exposure. A lenses will work the same way (if you don't have them in A mode) on the ME Super. A lenses allow the camera to set the aperture, which the ME Super does not have the functionality to do.

It sounds like the camera itself may have an issue if it's sitting on M in the display when you have Auto set on the dial

----
Edited to correct DSLR mode equivalency

Last edited by pezmaker; 03-25-2013 at 09:49 AM.
03-25-2013, 09:43 AM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by treetoile Quote
Hello there,