Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-26-2013, 08:37 AM   #1

K10D in low light??

Hello all!

This is my first post and I am just wondering if anyone else has trouble shooting decent shots with their K10D in low light. Even on auto, with the flash the photos are dark and color off? I borrowed a Canon Rebel XSI from a friend and the difference in low light is night and day! Is this a problem with the model in general, the stock lenses (18-55mm, 50-200mm), or something really obvious that I am missing? When I compare stats for an auto indoor shot with flash, the Pentax chooses the highest possible ISo 1600 while the Canon is shooting at 400.. What gives?

I am not a super newbie, have been shooting for 15+ years with both manual film SLR's and have had the Pentax for 5-6 years. I still have a lot to learn, but shooting indoors shouldn't be this hard..

03-26-2013, 09:09 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
While the K10D's high-iso performance may not be the best, you should still be able to get some usable shots indoors. Can you post some samples?

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
03-26-2013, 09:22 AM   #3
Veteran Member

I shot a lot of low light shots.

The first thing I would do is set everything to more or less default go out into daylight and take pic.
Then look at the Hgram and see if the camera is more or less putting it in the middle of the graph.
If the pic is normal to the eye and the graph is normal you should be good to go.
In other words rule out faulty metering to start with.
03-26-2013, 09:40 AM   #4