Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-14-2013, 06:33 AM   #1

Help with Lens purchase

Hello!

I am new to photography (2800 clicks :O) hehe very happy that i chose pentax!
(K5 + 18-135 WR)
I feel like its time for me to get another lens but i have issues choosing.
I love shooting landscapes (mostly because where i am at the moment is not very populated)
i enjoy portraits and macro photos as well.
I already know that i will get the 100mm WR macro lens when ill have the funds for it altho!
I wanted to verify if my lens choice is good or redundant or if i could improve it somehow.

DA* 16-50
DA 50mm 1.8
DA 55-300mm

Thanks to all

04-14-2013, 07:13 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome and congrats! That sounds like a very nice kit, you are on the right track. I would advise you get the DA 50mm f1.8 as the next lens. Or maybe the FA 50mm f1.4 instead - as far as I know it hasn't been discontinued yet: SMC Pentax-FA 50mm F1.4 Reviews - FA Prime Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

The great thing about Pentax is that all K mount lenses will fit, so you can even get K or M series full-manual lenses, and save some money while still getting great IQ. For example, the M series 50mm f1.7 can be found for $50-100 and delivers great photos, but no automation. The only thing I would do differently regarding your lens choice is that I might replace the 16-50mm with a prime or two, like DA 15mm and FA 35mm. I just prefer primes over zooms. Though, this is a thing you will decide for yourself after you develop your style and analyze your photos to see what you want the most, which focal length, which speed,..
04-14-2013, 07:16 AM   #3
Inactive Account

If I were you, I wouldn't even look at DA* 16-50. Check this review DA* 16-50mm vs. Sigma and Tamron 17-50mm F2.8 Comparison - Conclusion: Pentax - PentaxForums.com. Its value is extremely poor compared to Tamron or Sigma offerings.