Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-24-2013, 03:49 PM   #1

What to buy?

Hello,

I have thought about purchasing my first DSLR. I am a beginner but would like a mid-entry camera that would be good for a newbie but plenty of room to grow in the event I start to do portraits etc. I have focused on the Nikon D5100 or the Canon Rebel T3i. What are your opinions of these cameras or what would you recommend differently, I would like to stay around the $500 range to begin with.

Thanks

04-24-2013, 04:32 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Either of those will be fine. However the Nikon D5100 should be slightly cheaper. But you are probably looking at 600 dollars with the kit lens.

If you start to grow in your interest in shooting with it, just add better lenses as just about ANY modern camera is perfectly fine for these kind of interests.
04-24-2013, 04:35 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

QuoteOriginally posted by ntdmoma Quote
Hello,

I have thought about purchasing my first DSLR. I am a beginner but would like a mid-entry camera that would be good for a newbie but plenty of room to grow in the event I start to do portraits etc. I have focused on the Nikon D5100 or the Canon Rebel T3i. What are your opinions of these cameras or what would you recommend differently, I would like to stay around the $500 range to begin with.

Thanks
Take a look at this comparative review:
Canon T4i vs Nikon D5100 vs Pentax K-30 - Introduction - PentaxForums.com

If you're looking for the best video, the Canon would be a good choice. The Nikon is a bit better for stills.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)