Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-25-2013, 01:41 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
spot meter

I'm a beginner and wondering what is a spot meter used for ?

04-25-2013, 02:26 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Do you mean a handhold spot meter or one of the metering modes in a camera?

A handhold one-degree spot meter ( like the Pentax Spotmeter V and Pentax Digital Spotmeter) measures the reflected light falling in its one-degree circle thereby giving you the the middle gray exposure value of selected areas of a scene. That is, instead of averaging all the reflected or incident light visible to a meter, it measures a small, selective area that you are pointing it at. Similarly with one built into a camera.

I doubt anyone would really use one for their digital camera but they are more popular with large format film and people practicing the "zone system" of metering. But you can use it for any film format. With experience, they beat an average meter hands down because it has a human brain connected to it and isn't fooled by scenes that otherwise give average meters a difficult time. And they can tell you a lot more information than an average meter.
04-25-2013, 02:41 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

It is very difficult to explain if you are really a beginner, as even experienced photographers (and some professionals) had problems to make the most of it.

It does what the name implies: measuring the light for a certain spot instead of a bigger area. Depending of your camera/lens combination and the mode you are using, modern DSLRs offer spot metering without a special spot meter.