Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-11-2013, 01:19 AM   #1

Long Exposure

Hi Guys, newbie here with a K5.

I just purchased an Nuetral Density filter to get some "smooth & misty" photo's over the ocean. I read the K5 manual but couldn't see anywhere where I could set the shutter opening using the internal timer for periods of time.
I couldn't even find the section on where the timer might be or in what menu as I looked in all to no avail !

I eventually decided to set on Bulb and use menu C-3-19 set to item 1.

This was working whilst I used the iphone to time 30 or 40 or 60 secs etc, but occasionally I couldn't close the shutter again , and I noticed there was a countdown timer in the top screen !

How did I do that ?? and where did that timer come from ?? . I thought it may have been because I never had the Pentax IR , so will order a new one to try as well as a manual release , but is the same going to happen ??

Perhaps I should be setting the camera in a different mode to do this or even night shots ??

Appreciate any info you could share.

05-11-2013, 05:41 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Countdown timer - associated with slow shutter NR. If you take a long exposure, at the end (unless the function is switched off), the camera will automatically take an identical length 'dark' frame exposure, i.e. with shutter closed, which is then 'deducted' from the original exposure in order to eliminate/reduce in-camera noise.

Using the bulb setting for long exposures you either need to (a) operate the shutter button manually, or (b) use an external plug in timer.
05-11-2013, 09:57 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by JohnX Quote