Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-28-2013, 04:53 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Flashes

Is there a hot shoe adapter I can use for old flashes thyristors on my K30 ?

05-28-2013, 05:47 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Something is not worded quite right in your question?

If you are asking about using an existing auto thyristor flash on your K-30, you should be able to do that without any adapter if the voltage is reasonable (and it probably is, if it is an auto thyristor flash unit).
05-28-2013, 06:02 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
I appreciate the response, I purchased some older flashes If I understand corrctly the voltage from the hotshoe on my K30 is different, I am a beginner and trying to find out how to use the thyristor and or older flash units I bought. I was told by a friend I need some adapters and I'm trying to find out what would be best ?
05-28-2013, 06:10 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
I don't even understand if there is a difference between a flash and a thyristor. I do know I need better flash capabilities and picked up in an auction A pentax AF 160as , 160 and a 160s, also vivtar 5200 thyristor, vivtar 3500, and a promaster 5200 and need to know if and how I can get them working with my K30 ?Sorry I'm new to this but want to learn.

05-28-2013, 06:14 AM   #5
Veteran Member

I have a bunch of Hana hot shoe adaptwr/triggers. I got them because they got a universal sync port and so I could adapt my Pentax flashes for wireless with elinchrom triggers.

The bonus is that I can also use any flashgun on any camera now because of it. I just slide the hot shoe adapter onto my k5, throw the flash of choice up top and then use the sync cable to link the bottom and top of the adapter together and there we go! Of course whatever you use will be in full manual mode in this case.