Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-06-2013, 08:59 AM   #1

flash overexposure

Hi all, im kinda new to the world of Pentax...and especially to flash guns...never used them before.

I got a Jessops 360afd flash gun (a friend gave it to me) and even though it seems to work just fine, it over exposures everything. Any idea what i should do with the settings? i tried alot of options and so far the closest i can get to 'normal' is if i have it on slow trailing curtain sync but that makes the shutter stay open for a while and everything is blurry unless i use a tripod

am i missing something or is it just that this flash gun is not compatible with my k-30?

thank you in advance,

Maria

06-06-2013, 09:21 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Since all third party flashes for Pentax are reverse engineered there can be compatibility problems with newer bodies. I know Metz flashes needed firmware updates to work with the K-30, others might have too.

I believe that flash is a rebranded Tumax, but I'm not sure exactly which model.
06-06-2013, 03:11 PM   #3
Pentaxian

On those rare times I use flash, on my PTTL Sigma flash I usually just dial down the flash output (the flash compensation) in-camera to - 0.7 (or thereabouts) for direct flash. Not sure if your Jessops flash supports this.

You could also try putting a diffuser on the flash to steal away some of the strength of the flash output.
06-06-2013, 03:21 PM   #4

Original Poster
Ive done both...still way too powerful...

06-06-2013, 04:39 PM   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by madbean Quote
Ive done both...still way too powerful...