Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-08-2013, 08:07 PM   #1

Looking to take that step from beginner

Please excuse the topic jumps as it went from me asking a topic in PP to a topic about further my photography. So I apologize if this is in the wrong section since I've moved it around a few times before deciding to just post it here.
This topic jumps from asking about proper Post Processing to growing as a photographer and trying to find your niche to asking how to achieve photos worth selling.

I'm still a beginner in terms of shooting and PP. I bought my k-30 when it came out last summer and used it every day or edited every day to keep working and growing daily. With picking up more jobs in November I lost time and eventually stopped shooting / editing all together until recently. I still remember some stuff in PS but I'm far from knowing every must do / basic editing technic.

What editing is a must do? I shoot in raw so I play with the images in the raw editor for PS (the most recent edition).
How do you know when an image is "done" and achieve PP rivaling that of top images.

From temp/tint to exposure-black balance and even clarity. How much is too much? How much isn't enough?
Levels, sharpness, curve, hue/sat, clarity, bright/contrast, histogram balancing. How does it (and then some) all tie into making the image what you desire?