Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-14-2013, 10:36 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Handheld macro, suggestions/advice needed for image sharpness

Good afternoon!

I recently bought a used Tamron 70-300 from the forum and was eager to try out the macro capability of the lens.
This is my first time doing handheld macro shots, I'm very satisfied with the lens performance but am looking for ways to improve the sharpness of my macro shots.
Camera is K-r.

Below are 2 shots out of ~150 i took during a lunch break, no flash.
1st image: 1/60, f5.6, ISO200, FL200
bee image: 1/320, f/5.6, ISO200, FL 240mm,

I'm not very satisfied with the sharpness when viewing the pictures 1:1.
What could be causing this?
subject movement? Do i need faster shutter speed?
misfocus? I forgot whether i used manual or auto focus on these 2 images.
steadier hands?

any advice or suggestions are very appreciated!

p.s. sorry for the giant insect on your screen

Edit: also I don't think i've gone all the way to 1:2 macro (max. magnification) on the lens, probably doing that will also help?

Update 6/17:
I am happy to share that with the addition of flash and pringles diffuser i have noticed a significant improvement on the image sharpness
It has worked pretty well, beyond my expectations!
This time i tried a spider instead (much smaller than a bee!) and it is not during the day (less ambient light available).
f/11, ISO200, 180mm, 1/180
I think there's still some camera shake - bad idea to go shooting after a workout
Again thanks everyone for your input and feedback! I have much to learn

Attached Images

Last edited by czhao1009; 06-17-2013 at 06:55 PM. Reason: more info
06-14-2013, 11:04 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by czhao1009 Quote
subject movement? Do i need faster shutter speed?
This.

Bees constantly vibrate. All insects do.

Also, more DOF. Manual focus. Patience.
06-14-2013, 11:11 AM   #3

Original Poster