Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-15-2008, 10:26 AM   #1

Link AF point and AE

Hello,

I am really a newbie, but I don't understand this setting and the difference from using the AE-Lock. Can someone explain it?

Thanks

Joan.

03-16-2008, 09:41 AM   #2
Forum Member

I'm pretty sure, thought no positive, that it means that metering will adjust its 'focus' to the focus point you have selected. Meaning, if you have the center AF point selected, your meter will use that point to center on if you have matrix metering, or use that point for the spot meter. Or if you selected the left AF point, the meter will shift to the left to properly expose the infocus area of the frame.
this is what my old nikon film body does at least.
03-17-2008, 04:43 AM   #3
Forum Member

I believe turning Link AF point and AE on does what elnero said, except only in matrix metering mode. I like to think of it as a AF point weighted meter mode.

The camera still only uses the center point for metering in spot meter mode.
03-17-2008, 05:50 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I've played with it and you guys pretty much have it right.
1. Works only in Matrix metering mode
2. Sets exposure to properly expose the section of the matrix where focus is locked (when the green focus indicator in the viewfinder is illuminated)

It essentially works like a spot meter only the spot, instead of being in the center, is whatever focus point you or the camera (in green focus mode) has chosen.

Note if you've disconnected the half-press focus, this only kicks in if you press and hold the focus button down thus keeping the focus indicator illuminated. If you press and release the focus button the exposure will revert to normal matrix metering because even though the focus isn't going anywhere it is not technically locked as far as the camera is concerned.

03-18-2008, 05:26 AM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Workingdog Quote