Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-18-2013, 03:41 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
K-01 Problem with Focus

Hey folks.

I bought a new K-01 (body only) a month ago and am using a D-series 18 - 35mm lens on it, but am having focus issues. I generally use autofocus, but when my subjects have been out of focus when I review them later, I have tried using manual, which frankly is an issue.

Is there a good tutorial somewhere that gives hints on how to use this camera to its fullest capability, and how to properly set options? I used to think I was a fair-to-middling photographer, but this thing is making me feel like I should take up another hobby.

Thanks for any help. I can certainly post examples if needed.

Jim

06-18-2013, 05:03 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Jim,

Is there any particular scenario that is giving you trouble? I usually use select-point focus with the point in the center. Because the K-01 uses contrast-detect auto focus (CDAF), it tends to go after the object with highest contrast, especially if you use the default AF mode. I remember one K-01 user who was frustrated that the K-01 refused to focus on the object in the foreground, but there was a picture with a black frame on a white wall about ten feet behind it, and the camera just couldn't resist it. There is an option called AF autozoom where it zooms in to show what it is locking on to. It gets irritating after awhile, but it can be useful to get used to how the camera behaves. Because it's CDAF only, it also needs a bit more light to focus accurately, especially with something like the kit lens.

Last thought: have you upgraded the firmware? FW1.01 was a huge improvement over 1.00.
06-18-2013, 06:52 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Probably need to clarify which lens is that? The only 18-35 is the plastic fantastic FA-J 18-35.
Do you mean DA 18-135?
06-18-2013, 08:40 PM   #4