Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-19-2013, 11:30 AM   #1

35-135mm f3.5-f4.5 sigma pentax

Hi. I am new to Pentax (about 2 months...also my first dslr)....I just bought a used K-x and wanted to get a lens good for portraits. I also purchased an A series 50 1.7 lens which I love so far and was thinking about purchasing an AF lens with the range of 50 to 90 for portraits. I came across this lens on ebay for $70 and purchased it, but I can't seem to find any information on this lens. Anyone know anything about it? I'm wondering if that's not a good sign.....

Anyone own this or know where I can find info on it? There isn't anything in the lens section here for it. If this isn't a good lens, what would you suggest I purchase for portraits....full body, family, and also closer upper body portrait...

Thanks!

06-19-2013, 12:34 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
This one perhaps? Sigma 35-135mm F3.5-4.5 Lens Reviews - Sigma Lenses - Pentax Lens Review Database

Hard to recommend without knowing your budget. I use DA 70mm f/2.4 Limited for portraits and love it. The 50mm will also work quite well as a focal length. If you are set on a zoom take a look at the Pentax-F 35-70, it covers a good range and is a nice sharp lens and usually available for less than $100.

I'm not a big fan of the older manual zooms like the one you purchased, in most (but not all) cases those zooms are not as good as newer ones. Older primes on the other hand seem to have held up very well and are in most cases very close in quality to a modern lens.
06-19-2013, 02:44 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by jatrax Quote
This one perhaps? Sigma 35-135mm F3.5-4.5 Lens Reviews - Sigma Lenses - Pentax Lens Review Database