Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
06-20-2013, 03:04 AM   #1

If you were to give one piece of advice to a complete beginner?

Hello

If you were to give one piece of advice someone, who has never touched a dslr camera before.
What would it then be?

I just got my first camera, and I would like to know what I should focus on in the beginning.

-Thue

06-20-2013, 03:19 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Read the manual with the camera next to you.

Then go out shooting, bring the manual with you.

You will learn exposure fastest in M mode, and might want to read this to make it a pleasant experience;
Understanding Exposure
Understanding Exposure, 3rd Edition: How to Shoot Great Photographs with Any Camera:Amazon:Books

Don't buy more gear until you have done this, and enjoy the learning process.
06-20-2013, 03:41 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Use a manual film camera with a TTL light meter.
-Properly exposed shots due to the meter
-You'll learn how to balance shutter speed and aperture since you need to set them manually.
06-20-2013, 03:45 AM   #4
Forum Member

One top thing that helped me become more familiar with my dSLR was to pick up a cheap manual focus prime lens (an M 50/2 can surely be found for less than $15), as using one slows you down and releases you from easy reliance on autofocus and auto-everything and makes you learn the functions and handling of your camera more. Plus, it's just more fun with a prime!

06-20-2013, 03:52 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Nice question

Find a buddy to go out photographing with or join a local camera club provided they don't spend their time being superior. When ever you get the chance keep it social and fun. My photo buddy lives in South Africa and I am in Australia. We swap photos about twice a week. When we get the chance to get together we go wild (literally) with our gear.
06-20-2013, 04:02 AM   #6
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums