Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-21-2013, 05:48 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Which RAW program to use?

I'm not really a beginner in terms of using my K-30 (K-x previously)...I'm a beginner in terms of developing RAW files. I tried Silkypix and GIMP, but they seemed a bit not user friendly to just jump in. I'm in no ways a techno-phobe, hell I'm pretty computer savvy and have played video games since pong. Anyhoo...can anyone recommend a RAW development program that is noob friendly? Photoshop? Serif? Coral? Help please...I want a program that is noob friendly and yet powerful enough to grow into...much like the K-x and K-30....
Thanks in advance....

06-21-2013, 06:02 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I really like Lightroom, maybe with Nik Software's modules. This will take care of 99 percent of editing needs.
06-21-2013, 06:11 AM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Rondec Quote
I really like Lightroom, maybe with Nik Software's modules. This will take care of 99 percent of editing needs.
Noob friendly? I've read good/bad stuff in regards to Photoshop Lightroom...I almost bought it recently....
Thanks for your reply.
06-21-2013, 06:13 AM   #4
Pentaxian

I have Corel PSP X and X4. Paint Shop Pro is a great post processing program. I'm not sure if the latest version (X5) can convert the K-30 raws directly but it can handle DNG files.

PSP is sort of the Pentax of post processing software. Even though there are fewer tutorials for PSP online then Photoshop, many of the Photoshop tutorials can be adapted for PSP.

You may want to use the free 30 download to give it a try before you buy.

Tim

06-21-2013, 06:17 AM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Nerdlinger Quote
Noob friendly? I've read good/bad stuff in regards to Photoshop Lightroom...I almost bought it recently....
Thanks for your reply.