Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-01-2013, 04:42 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
ND filters

i am wanting to purchase an ND filter but when looking for one i noticed there are different types or different shades? is this true or am i just being a complete noob!?

07-01-2013, 04:51 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
ND filters come with different "slowing power". Usually in steps of 1/2 reduction in light. I keep an ND8 (3 stop) in my bag at all times. I also have a 9 stop filter for nice long exposures.
07-01-2013, 04:51 AM   #3
Site Supporter

ND filters have numbers that correspond to the amount of light that is decreased by the filter - .3 (1 stop) .6 (2 stop) etc...
07-01-2013, 04:55 AM   #4
Veteran Member

You can also buy more flexible ND filters which act similarly to polarizing filters - by rotating one of the layers of the glass you adjust the amount of light you let through - thus reducing stops down. Some also use two polarized filters stacked for the same effect ( since variable ND filters are essentially the same thing - just in slick package - pricey though).

Hope it helps

Last edited by manntax; 07-01-2013 at 05:24 AM. Reason: Edited out the part that was answered while I was writing ;)
07-01-2013, 05:49 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The terminology is confusing since there are many ways of referring to the same ND filter. All I really care about is the number of stops reduction in light the filter produces. Here is a handy table:

2x = ND3 = 0.3 = 1 stop
4x = ND6 = 0.6 = 2 stops
8x = ND9 = 0.9 = 3 stops
16x = ND12 = 1.2 = 4 stops

And then there is the ND400 filter for about 9 stops of reduction.