Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
07-06-2013, 04:15 PM - 1 Like   #1
Inactive Account

Tamron 90mm f2.5 52BB - a few questions and lots of photos

As some of you may remember I bought the Tamron 90mm f2.5 52BB listed here:
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/sold-items/224630-sale-sold-tamron-90mm-f...pic-added.html

It arrived some time ago but it took much longer for the Adaptall > EOS (I shoot Canon 60D) big_is adapter, so the lens was just sitting on the shelf, waiting for its turn. Yesterday I finally got to test it. It fitted nicely with the adapter, focus ring works pretty smooth, maybe there is a bit more CA wide open than I expected but pictures look sharp and tasty. Anyways, after I've done some testing, I'm stuck with several concerns.

Given that I'm an absolute beginner in MF lenses, and not so experienced photographer either, I decided to ask for some expert opinion to solve this puzzle.

1. Irregular aperture shape:

What could have caused it? Bad servicing, manufacturer's error? Don't know if it really affects the image in any way but it's there: a bit out of center and out of the shape it should probably have.

2. There are 13 stops on the aperture ring. Moving the ring only affects the iris between f/2.5 and f/13. Apertures: f/13, f/16, f/22, f/32 look pretty much the same to me:

f/2.5

f/3.3

f/4.0

f/4.8

f/5.6

f/6.7

f/8.0

f/9.5

f/11

f/13 (from now on, you can see the the aperture ring moving but no effect on the iris)

f/16

f/22

f/32

3. There is a slight play on the focusing ring. It would be nothing to write home about if moving the focus ring wouldn't affect the aperture iris. As I said, I'm an absolute beginner in MF lenses but I guess it shouldn't work that way. Even if I didn't care that, let's say: f/4.0 is really f/4.0, such behavior affects light repeatability in a series of photos.

Here is a short video to demonstrate what I'm talking about: