Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-09-2013, 02:48 PM   #1

Lost among the buttons...

I'm a blatant newbie, and I'm not sure where this should be posted. Please direct me! It's a beautiful day, and the flowers are in great form! Staring at a computer screen - not where I prefer to be...

I see tons of things posted about The GREEN Button! I just don't know what to do with it. My situation: K-30, with which (until now) I've begun to enjoy photography again. (Post-Film) I'm trying to use it with a SMC Pentax-M Macro 1:4 50mm lens. I have enabled the aperture ring. Now, according to the video (and written instructions) I need to program my infamous "Green Button." Question: Does it have another technical name? On p. 2 of the manual it's simply called #2 (Green) Button. In RECORD Mode, display #4, there is an option: Button Customization. Three names display: RAW/Fx; AF/AE-L; then AF/AE-L again. One apparently enables AF, the other enables AE.

No "green button" displays as clearly as it does in the video. I also could not find it anywhere in the Customization menus. I accessed a web site with K-30 specs and menu displays. No green button there, either. I've not even considered the green button before today. However, I've not used this wonderful old macro lens, either.

Given all the posts about the Green Button, I thought I'd find something. If it's there, I must have missed it and I apologize. I did find that it's rather important when shooting with old (but superb!) manual lenses, as I want to do.

I would prefer to avoid hanging myself with my camera strap (I'd be using an old Nikon strap, not Pentax), but the frustration level is very high...as the day is fading. Any and all help, guidance, assistance - I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks.

07-09-2013, 04:16 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums