Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-09-2013, 04:06 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Lenses without Auto/Manual Aperture switch

I recently purchased a couple of Yashica Yashinon lenses (DS and DS-M, M42, 50mm/1.7's). However, neither has an auto/manual switch. Turning the optical preview on (i.e. turning the power button) does not show any difference in image though the viewfinder regardless of what aperture the lens is set to. What am I missing here, and how can I use these lenses. Is this a case where I have to modify the lens so as to keep the pin depressed? Thanks.

07-09-2013, 04:13 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
M-42 lenses must be in manual to operate with digital. I only buy those that have an A/M switch so I'm not experienced with correcting an auto only lens. But if you search for m42 auto manual switch you should find a number of threads on this subject.

Here is your other thread: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/229022-modifyi...-m-switch.html Which I think answers your question. If not, then I guess I am not understanding you.
07-09-2013, 04:14 PM   #3
Site Supporter

The pin will have to be gimmicked to keep it depressed. Or you can gimmick the adapter, or just buy an adapter that already has the inner rim...

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/51749-m42-auto...ification.html

jr-worldwi.de: Photography: Technic
07-09-2013, 09:12 PM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by jatrax Quote
M-42 lenses must be in manual to operate with digital. I only buy those that have an A/M switch so I'm not experienced with correcting an auto only lens. But if you search for m42 auto manual switch you should find a number of threads on this subject.