Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-15-2013, 06:21 PM   #1

Lightroom and K-5 ii DNG's? Images attached

Hi all,

I am really new to Raw post processing. I had my monitor calibrated but for the life of me I just can't seem to get the proper exposure/contrast/color rendition from the DNG in LightRoom
Attached are three versions of the same DNG run through different settings. The third is very close to the dng view from the pentax DCU software but just doesn't look quite right to me.

Thoughts/Suggestions?

Name:  1.jpg
Views: 540
Size:  83.7 KB
Name:  2.jpg
Views: 487
Size:  84.9 KB
Name:  3.jpg
Views: 491
Size:  133.3 KB

Thanks!

07-15-2013, 06:35 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
For what it's worth, the first image looks right to me.
07-15-2013, 06:50 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks for the feedback cal,
I am partial to the first one as well, it certainly has the most accurate colors. Do the colors look a little oversaturated to you? I am wondering if my monitor is not accurately calibrated.
07-15-2013, 07:19 PM   #4
Pentaxian

What a wonderful capture! Those eyes, and that expression is priceless. Nice one.
And welcome to the forum.

Each of these are way too blue and unnatural looking. Whether this is the result of faulty calibration is hard to say, but I would guess that your newness to post processing is a major contributor. As you get more comfortable with your tools, you will have to decide how you are going to measure "quality" in developing an image. A simplified way to think about your options is managing the balance between what the camera captures using the built-in engineering intelligence you paid money for vs. what YOU feel is a pleasing rendition according to your own subjective and intuitive judgement.