Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-20-2013, 08:35 AM   #1

RE: Autofocus not working on KII 5 Body with 77mm 1.8

Hello folks,

I just got a 77mm 1.8 lens and auto focus does not work on my k5 II body. I am a Pentax newb, so I am sorry if this is a dumb question but am I doing something wrong?

Is there a trick to enable this?

07-20-2013, 08:44 AM   #2

Original Poster
Any1 able to help guys? I just bought this lens and I'm afraid its broken ;(
07-20-2013, 09:06 AM   #3

Original Poster
Any1 folks?
07-20-2013, 09:13 AM   #4

Original Poster
When i turn on the camera it asks me to put focus length in.... I've never seen this before on any camera.

I'd REALLY appreciate some help.

07-20-2013, 09:21 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Shouldn't be any trick, but it sounds like you have some dirty contacts on the lens and/or body, so the two aren't communicating properly. Check those two first and clean them with a lens cleaning cloth. And, of course, make sure your body AF switch is set to auto focus and not manual!
07-20-2013, 09:44 AM   #6

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by LowVoltage Quote
Shouldn't be any trick, but it sounds like you have some dirty contacts on the lens and/or body, so the two aren't communicating properly. Check those two first and clean them with a lens cleaning cloth. And, of course, make sure your body AF switch is set to auto focus and not manual!
Thanks, i did switch to auto. My other lenses work fine so it must be his lens.
07-20-2013, 09:57 AM   #7

Original Poster
I noticed that even when i switch the camera body to AF it still says MF when I look in the viewfinder but the motor does seem to be engaged meaning that if i try to turn the lens to focus manually it is hard to do. When I switch camera to MF it is nice and smooth.

Lens looks like it is brand new. There is no dust or anything like that.

This is beyond weird.
07-20-2013, 10:22 AM   #8
Site Supporter