Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
07-24-2013, 06:06 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Bad DAL 55-300 lens?

Early June I purchased a 55-300mm. I'm new to DSLR and not a "photographer" in any sense of the word, just a hobbyist. I was uncomfortable with the quality of the lens from the start, but until this morning never had convincing evidence. The moon is near full and I love moon shots, so I decided to try the new lens. Long story short, I could not get one snap in focus. Moon features were easily visible to the eye, but I could capture nothing. I have some nice shots with my K-01 using a Nikon lens (with adapter) so I'm pretty sure it isn't the camera. Here are the test factors: K-01, tripod, no filters mounted, 12 second shutter delay, shake reduction off, both with and without hood, both manual and auto focus, "auto" mode, AV mode, Tv mode, night photo scene mode, 30mm, 200mm. In manual mode, I used a full range of apertures, maximum to minimum and in between, along with a range of shutter speeds. I could not achieve detail in any of these, just a white disk. Am I missing something procedurally? Or is it the lens?

Also, with the camera in manual mode, manual focus, and manual lens, isn't the K-01 supposed to ask me to set the focal length?

I wasn't sure how many pictures should be posted, so I used one of the bad ones and the good one with the Nikon

Advice please

Thank you

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-01  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-01  Photo 
07-24-2013, 06:21 AM   #2

I don't own the K-01, but looking at the second photo, I suspect that you were not using spot metering, which would be why you blew out the moon. Try using spot metering, and I would suggest using manual focus and manual mode so that you can control the exposure yourself and begin with f8-f11 and go from there. Good luck.
07-24-2013, 06:21 AM   #3