Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-02-2013, 06:00 PM   #1

Can anyone explain this?

I'm completely new to photography and have no idea why this happened.. i know it has to do with the slow shutter speed.. but can anyone explain why? shot with the k-5, 18-135mm wr, at iso 320, f5.6, and .6 of a second. @18mm. excuse the horrid picture
Name:  IMGP9510.jpg
Views: 694
Size:  178.2 KB

08-02-2013, 07:23 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Your shutter speed - 0.6 second - is too slow. You moved during the exposure.
Half a second seems like no time at all - but it's a lot longer than you think. The rule of thumb is never shoot slower than 1/(focal length) - or about 1/20 second for an 18 mm lens. Some people can hold longer than others, and as I've aged, I've gotten shakier - but the rule of thumb is good to remember.
Camera stabilization helps about a factor of two, I gather (I don't use it myself).
A tripod and a cable release is the best solution, in my opinion.
By the way, it looks like you rotated more than moved laterally. Kind of a neat effect, actually.

Last edited by jford; 08-02-2013 at 07:25 PM. Reason: more to say
08-02-2013, 07:26 PM   #3

No explanation but it think it is a very interesting effect.
08-02-2013, 07:26 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the Forum!

Do all of your pictures come out this way? Or is it just this one? Shooting in RAW or JPG? After you have taken the image, does it look like this on the rear screen?

If this was taken up in Sedona, AZ - I would say that you have stumbled across the Vortax that everyone is looking for up there!

08-02-2013, 07:28 PM   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Was this cropped? I'd think camera rotation would normally make the center of the image the orbit point, not somewhere off to one side.

Regardless, its a really cool effect as said above.
08-02-2013, 07:43 PM   #6
Veteran Member