Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-05-2013, 03:23 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Battery went through a washing machine and dryer - toss it?

Yeah, not one of my finest moments - I thought I checked my pockets, but guess not well enough. So should I even try it or is there a chance of damaging the camera I put it in? It's a Q battery btw...

08-05-2013, 04:11 AM   #2
PJ1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I have no experience with this particular problem, but there are two main things to consider.
(1) This type of battery can be damaged if it is shorted out. We could assume that the battery will be discharged by the washing process (I think soapy water is an even better conductor than plain water). This may not be the same as shorting the battery, but it is unlikely to be good for it.
(2) If water gets past the seals and inside the battery I think it would definitely suffer damage and probably be unlikely to ever take a full charge again.
So that makes two possibilities, neither of which is good. As the battery is unlikely to still carry a charge there would be no point in putting it in the camera. But if there is no obvious water or anything else running out of the battery, you could leave it for a few days to ensure it is dry and then try it on the battery charger. If it appears to take a charge, you could then check voltage and capacity using a multimeter. If it looks about right, it probably is OK to use in your camera.
Personally, I would be inclined to bite the bullet and get a new battery. Sometimes it isn't worth the pain of finding out.
08-05-2013, 04:25 AM   #3

Shorting a bettery does not necessariy ruin it. A lot of chargers short the battery to empty it completely before recharging.
It migth still work fine. Just see if it charges ok
If it refuses to charge full after several hours then it really is gone.
08-05-2013, 07:57 AM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums