Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-12-2013, 02:09 AM   #1

Newbie: What happened with my photos ?

Dear Pentax community,

OK so I recently aquired my first ever Pentax (a k1000, so retro !!! ) and went on a shooting spree during my holidays.

Being a complete newbie with film SLRs, I just shot at random and then went to develop them at my local photo printer.

Have a look at what came out

What could be the cause of this? Yet some did come out fine. I played around with my friend's K1000 and the shutter mechanism sounded a little different. Mine was more clunky. Could that be it?

Thank you loads for your help.

Attached Images

08-12-2013, 04:58 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

That is a light leak of sorts. Maybe someone here has a better idea of how it might've got there, but given it isn't on all the photos you should consider the possibility that the film canister had a gap in it or the lab may have exposed it. Maybe waste another roll of cheapo film through it and see if it happens again.
08-12-2013, 05:26 AM - 1 Like   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Yep, light leaked somehow and the film got exposed to it in places. Make sure all the light seals are new - after all these years there is no chance the camera will be light tight without any service. Apart from that - lovely shots, congrats ! ( I'd frame that shots with fellows so their feet would be visible perhaps :P)
08-12-2013, 08:29 AM - 1 Like   #4

Lomography! Some folks actually pay to have their photos looks that way.

I vote light leak.

08-12-2013, 08:59 AM - 1 Like   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
I like them.
08-12-2013, 09:40 AM   #6

Original Poster
Haha thanks everyone ! I was at first so down that all my photos were ruined and now it looks like people actually prefer them this way... aah life is full of surprises.

So I might have to get the K1000 serviced then.

QuoteOriginally posted by Louicio Quote