Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-17-2013, 07:11 PM   #1

What am I doing wrong with new K-30

Hi All, I have had my K-30 about one week now. I am new to digital, but have had film for many years and fully understand, shutter, aperture, iso etc. I have been using the kit lenses (18-55 and 50-200) on Auto or Scene mode. The shots are coming out very dark, with the subject unable to be seen. Today I used TV, AV and SV modes with much better results. Using Auto mode I set the Exposure Compensation to +3. The background was a little washed out, but the subject was okay. I would like to be able to reliably use Auto/Scene Modes without having to change the EV, after all that is what they are for! I have not changed any of the default settings. Any ideas on which settings I should be looking at to change. I have been reading the manual, but have not yet found anything that would apply. Thanks for any input.
Lenore

08-17-2013, 07:32 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You know the saying " a picture is worth a thousand words" if you post a photo to show what you mean, it will help others to help you.
08-17-2013, 07:33 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
You will need to post a sample or two with intact exif info.

I'm under the impression EV can not be adjusted in Auto - though I could be wrong as I never use that mode. Try P, which has more adjustability.

Make sure EV is back to zero and set the meter to matrix.
08-17-2013, 07:40 PM   #4

Original Poster
I can't post any tonight, but will post examples tomorrow.

08-17-2013, 08:47 PM   #5
Pentaxian

Without looking, my guess is you are using spot metering, and metering somewhere bright. It seems that when this comes up, 9 out of 10 times, that's the problem.