Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-01-2013, 06:34 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
OOO NO not another Wide Angle Thread!! lol

So yea here I am starting a wide angle thread knowing that there is a lot of them on there. I have in fact read them and while I gained a lot of good information, im still having trouble picking a lens. I have been looking at the Sigma and Tamron 17-50 2.8 for a while now. The big selling point for me on these lens is the 2.8 throughout the range of the zoom. I currently dont own a nifty 50 (or thrifty 50 depending on who you are), I shoot a lot of fashion and glamour with my 85mm so I have no need really for a 50 except for walking around. I do shoot a lot of fashion events and other random events. I am also a big light painter and love my manual 28mm wide for those images.

I am hesitant on the other wide angle lens where the F/ adjusts from 2.___ to around 4 during the zoom. Since i shoot a lot of events that vary in lighting, I think I would end up swapping lens more often than I would like. I have been renting the Pentax Wide Angle from Borrow lens and love shooting wide in some of my fashion shoots but want to ensure that the lens that I purchase is versatile (as much as it can be). I know that Sigma just released some new Wide Angle lens, from what I can see they list 2.8 but nowhere does it say that the 2.8 is throuout the entire zoom, so I am hesitant to just assume it does. Am I missing any lens here or have I pretty much narrowed it down for myself?

Last question. I saw the new flash that pentax is releasing. I was comparing the specs, and the cheaper flash has a quicker recycle time than the more expensive flash, what difference am I missing? Anyone got a nice flash they could sell to a Marine? lol

Thanks a lot in advance for all the help I know you all with give me!

09-01-2013, 06:47 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums