Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-13-2013, 12:42 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Pentax K5 flash sync speed

Just wondering , with the K5 are you stuck @ 1/180 as the fastest possibly sync speed ? ( external flash )

09-13-2013, 12:45 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Yes, unless you enable high speed sync on the external flash, which fires as a strobe, but with some reduction in range / power.
09-13-2013, 01:02 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Original Poster
Hmmm , HSS / as strobe , but I thought that the camera would not send out a signal to fire the flash above 1/180 ?

Is there a guide or tutorial ?

I know some other cameras have an option in the menu to increase the sync speed at which the camera will fire the flash , does the K5 offer this ? ( I havent found any such option )
09-13-2013, 01:29 AM   #4
Master of the obvious
Loyal Site Supporter

I have very little experience with flashes, but have a look at the flash info that @mattdm has put up:
High-Speed Sync - Pentax P-TTL Flash Comparison

09-13-2013, 01:40 AM   #5
Pentaxian

How to use: Select HS on the flash, use Tv mode (for example) to set the shutter speed as desired. If you go faster than 1/180th then HS will automatically enable. That's it! The only penalty in practice is the 'guide number' of the flash gets reduced.
See pages 31 and 81 of the AF360 manual.
http://www.ricoh-imaging.co.jp/english/support/man-pdf/acc_st_af360fgz.pdf

There isn't an option in-camera to select HS, because the built-in flash doesn't support it, however it does work wirelessly from the built in flash.
09-13-2013, 01:44 AM   #6