Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-21-2013, 07:29 AM   #1
Forum Member

Just a newbie question...(in-body AF Motors)

Hi,

this is my first post here. My name is Bernhard, but friends call me Bernie.
I am german, so my english is far from perfect, please excuse the mistakes I'll make.

I bought a Pentax K-30 because of the fantastic features it has compared to the competitors in its class.
Indeed calling the K-30 "entry level" isn't doing it justice in my opinion.

My aunt is very dedicated to photography and donated me her "old" Canon EOS 1000D (she also has an EOS 50D and 5D Mk III). I wasn't much interested in this hobby, but this gift "infected" me quite a bit.

Now my question:

I am new to the in-body AF system as my previous camera didn't have this feature.

I learned that this system works by a pin that drives the zoom mechanism in the lens.
So I assume when switching from AF-S via AF-C to MF, that then this pin will be retracted - right?

I now ask myself if it is better to switch to MF before removing / changing the lens as the AF driving pin is then retracted, sitting in the bayonet.

I guess it doesn't make a difference how the AF switch is set prior to changing lens, but would like to understand why.

Best regards,

Bernie

09-21-2013, 07:56 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Good question, but the answer is 'no need'.

The drive pin is spring loaded and is designed to simply get pushed into the body as the lens is rotated.

I wish my German was even fractionally as good as your English!
09-21-2013, 08:21 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Good Morning, and Welcome to the Forum!