Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-07-2013, 06:11 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Newbie question - Asahi Pentax SMC 50mm f/2 vs 1:1.7

Hi,

I am sure this will seem like a silly question, but I'm pretty new to D/SLRs and am still trying to wrap my head around how everything interacts with everything else - aperture, shutter speed, ISO, etc.

I have a K30 (just the 18-55mm DAL kit) and picked up a few lenses on eBay, including a Pentax SMC 50mm f/2. I really like it and have gotten what to me are great photos with good bokeh, and I thought it would likely be the lens that stayed on my camera the most.

Then earlier today I was at my local thrift store and apparently a Pentax user had donated some of their old kit. I made the mistake of buying a Vivitar 28-200mm lens that I thought would fit but doesn't (it's a PK-R and has a flange that doesn't let it seat correctly), and an ME that had a Pentax/Asahi SMC 50mm 1:1.7 on it. I bought it just for that lens.

My question is, what is the functional difference between the two SMC 50mm lenses? I understand that the aperture is wider; so am I better off with this lens, or does it depend on what I'm shooting? Is there enough of a difference that I should keep both 50mm lenses?

My plan now is to put the Vivitar on the ME and put it up on eBay to cover the cost of the 50mm lens. If there's no advantage to keeping the 50mm f/2, I would add that in too.

Any thoughts or advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Meghan

10-07-2013, 06:24 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
The 50/1.7 is a better optical design than the 50/2.

So theoretically the 50/1.7 should be better at ƒ/2 than the 50/2. The sweet spot for both lenses is around ƒ/8.
10-07-2013, 06:27 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Take a look at the user reviews here too: