Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-16-2013, 02:39 PM   #1

Which lens for wildlife/ ultra wide?

Hi all, noob here. Got my k-30 which is my first dslr a little over a month ago and have been having a lot of fun with it and the 18-135 lens. My main interests are landscape and wildlife photography and I have found that I need something with more reach. I'm the type that hikes with my camera strapped to my pack totally exposed to the elements so WR and lightweight are fairly important. I have been looking at the Pentax DA 55-300mm f/4-5.8 ED as well as the Pentax - SMC-P DA -L 55-300/4-5.8 ED. What are the differences in these other than the price? Should I just pony up and wait for the HD Pentax DA 55-300mm f/4-5.8 ED WR or even something else? I almost think it would be nice to have a 400mm for reaching wildlife. Also any recommendations for a wide angle lens for landscapes and maybe some city shooting. I was looking at the Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Lens for Pentax. Seems like it would be up to the task, but is there anything more water resistant and maybe cheaper? Any help would be appreciated as I feel like I'm swimming in lenses with no idea what to get. Love the 18-135 but feel like I need a zoom and a wide angle as well.

10-16-2013, 02:52 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Wildlife generally means 300mm or more...

You can easily compare the existing 55-300 features - metal or plastic mount material, quick shift or lack of, hood or lack of, and focus scale or lack of, but waiting for the WR version as it is important to you might be best. The 55-300 is about the best IQ bang for the buck for that FL length, though not particularly fast. Anything with better IQ and speed is likely twice the cost and weight, and not WR.