Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-20-2013, 07:27 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
What is this Line Across my Photos?

I have a K10d that I've been shooting with for about 4 years. I'm guessing it has about 15k actuations on the shutter.

Anyway, in the past few months I've been seeing this line across about every 100th image (see attached pictures). It shows up across the same part of the image each time.

Does this look familiar to anyone? Could it be the SD card?

Thanks for any info.

Jon

Original Image:

100% crop

10-20-2013, 07:38 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Test it with your other SD cards to see if it happens again.
10-20-2013, 07:49 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Could be a sensor problem, worse case. Or it could be the SD card.

Try a different card, or try formatting the one you have. Hopefully it is the card.
10-20-2013, 07:50 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by vagabond79 Quote

Does this look familiar to anyone?

100% crop
Somewhat though it may not be your case. I think K10D uses CCD rather than CMOS. See this old thread: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-dslr-discussion/190585-cmos-laser-damage.html.

10-20-2013, 08:26 PM   #5

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by K57XR Quote
Somewhat though it may not be your case. I think K10D uses CCD rather than CMOS. See this old thread: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-dslr-discussion/190585-cmos-laser-damage.html.
It does look similar to the line on the "CMOS Laser Damage" video. Thankfully, it is only showing up every 100th image or so and not all the time. I don't think my camera has been near any lasers recently. Thanks for alerting me to this possibility though.

I will try to format the card first and if that doesn't work I'll buy another card and try that. Thanks for the replies!
10-21-2013, 12:16 PM   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter