Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-25-2013, 02:58 PM   #1

newbie question about lighting and white balance

I am pretty new to cameras. I am trying to take pictures for selling stuff online using a Pentax K10.

I am attaching a photo someone else took to sell a magazine online. It is the one with Santa on the cover. I like the color and the brightness of the photo. The whites are really white. Overall, a good photo for presenting the product.

I am also attaching a couple of photos I took trying to achieve the same thing. The items in the photo are sitting on white posterboard (not off white). But my photos are dark. The whites are not white. I've tried all of the following:

- green mode with flash on
- manual mode and av mode with opening the aperture wide
- I have two 1000 watt work lights that I also tried using. These are not photography lights but with 2000 watts of lighting from them , I was getting the left side of the image. I don't think the flash went off with all that light
- I've tried manually adjusting the white balance

Clearly, I'm just doing something wrong. Both sides of the image had these very bright lights shining yet you would never know it from looking at the pictures. I've used these lights in the past with HD video and gotten pretty good results.

So I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction. Assume that the object is very well lit against a very white background. Is there a set of steps I can take to make adjustments so that I get a photo that looks like the Santa one I posted?

I realize this post must sound like an absolute novice asking to made an expert in 3 easy steps, but I'm baffled. Any pointers in the right direction would be helpful.

Attached Images

10-25-2013, 04:20 PM   #2
Site Supporter