Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
10-30-2013, 07:50 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K-50 metering not working well with super-takumar screw mounts

Hi All,

I'm new to the K-50. So I hope I'm just doing something wrong. But I can't seem to get the K-50 to meter using older Super Takumar screw mount lenses. I've got a 35 mm and 50 mm Super Tak and neither of them meter worth a darn with the K-50. I've followed the guidelines here on the pentax forums as well as the same recommendation on Ricoh's website. But every time I press the green button to meter through the lens, which by the way I've tried it with the lens Auto/man setting set to manual as well as auto. And with the lens set to manual with various aperture settings I can see in the viewfinder more or less light accordingly. Regardless pressing the green button has no affect on the shutter speed setting. And the shutter speed it does select is really fast for the amount of light I know is coming into the lens. I've also tried pointing the camera towards more or less light, and then pressing the green button just to see if the metering alters the shutter speed. Still the shutter speed doesn't change. If i release the green button and then take the picture it's so underexposed the seen is almost completely black. I can barely make out the subject matter. However, I can manually set the shutter speed via the e-dial to what makes sense and it'll take a good picture. Am I expecting too much to have the camera do this for me with the green button? Is there only a limited set of lighting conditions when metering works accurately? Is there a way to calibrate the metering with a specific lens? Or is using the EV button the only option? For the record my ISO is not set to auto when I do this. Also if I look through the viewfinder I don't see the EV meter reflecting any change in exposure when pointing to more or less light either. Should the EV meter change, wi