Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-05-2013, 09:06 PM   #1

Trying to decide on my first lens(es)

Hello everyone!
I'm new to DSLRs and Pentax; my only experience with SLRs is with my father's film Minolta that broke some years back. After some research I decided that the Pentax K-30 has the perfect mix of what I want and what I can afford. I don't have my camera yet, as I'm waiting for Black Friday to see if it goes on sale. My only problem now is choosing my first lens(es). I spent several days researching Pentax lenses and discovered the "K" series. These, I believe, have what I want regarding focusing abiilty, image quality, and affordabiity. There are three lenses in particular I'm interested in.

- Pentax K 50mm f1.4
- Pentax K 55mm f1.8
- Pentax K 35mm f3.5

I love the pictures I've seen on this forum taken with these lenses and I like what the reviewers say about them. I would really like to have the 50mm f1.4 as I can use it in lower light and it's easier to find, but the pictures I saw taken with the 55mm were stunning! I tried comparing the two to see if I can buy the 50mm and skip on the 55mm, but all the reviews I read compared them at their lowest apertures, thus I don't know how the 50mm compares to the 55mm at f1.8. I know I want the 35mm as that has a "normal" view for the K-30, but I'm willing to wait on it and buy the two others if they fit what I want.