Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-07-2013, 12:34 AM   #1

P-TTL Noob Question - Help Much Appreciated

Hi all,

Let me preface by saying that I am no stranger to flash or lighting in general. My background is in film and video production and I've been shooting since before I could legally drive. Perhaps because of this, I find TTL anything beyond confusing.

I've second shot a few weddings recently, and I didn't dislike it nearly as much as I thought I would, so I've agreed to do a few more for the same photographer. BUT... I've done all of the shooting and lighting manually and I would like to go P-TTL to test a couple ideas that I have (also, HSS and second-curtain would be fun to play with)...

I was set to order a used AF 360 FGZ when I noticed that, in order to use off-camera, it requires the use of two additional pieces of gear - a hotshoe adapter and a 5 pin cable. Can this be correct? I can't find anything to support this and it would add nearly a hundred bucks to the order.

Thanks in advance for any help you could offer.

11-07-2013, 02:00 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
You can shoot the AF-360FGZ wirelessly if your camera has an on board flash which can act in controller mode. You don't say what camera you are using, but I'd suggest you look up the specs for the camera to find out.

The AF-360FGZ has just been replaced by the new AF-360FGZ II. I'd suggest that you purchase this one instead of the original 360 as it now has a swivelling head, not just tilting.

For the non wireless connection you will need a Hot Shoe Adapter FG for the camera, an Off Camera Shoe Adapter F for the flash, and a cable Extension Cord F5P to go between them. If you did purchase the older AF-540FGZ you will not need the Off Camera Shoe Adapter as this flash only has a 5P socket in the side. It does not look like either of the new flashes now have an inbuilt 5P socket.