Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-08-2013, 04:23 PM   #1

Need help deciding on new camera

I currently own an entry level Canon Rebel xs with a tamron 18-270 mm lens. I am looking to upgrade and have been researching Pentax. I am by no means a professional but I certainly enjoy taking photos. My subject matter is mostly of my children and family. I do like landscape photography as well there is beauty all around us. I was looking at the K30 with an 18-135 but wonder if I should just go big and go with the K3. I have been watching YouTube reviews and reading online reviews and just not sure what would be best. Unfortunately no camera stores around me carry the Pentax so I am not able to do a hands on test drive.

11-08-2013, 04:49 PM   #2

If you have the budget to spend, the K3 is certainly a better camera than the K-30.
If not, the K-30 itself is a very decent camera. Check out the K-30 section here and take a look at members uploaded pics.

Check out these 2 reviews on youtube: (no, I am not affiliated with that store)

11-08-2013, 05:05 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks...those are two of the many videos I watched. I should add two of the best videos. I just wonder if k3 is too much of a camera for me.
11-08-2013, 05:09 PM   #4

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Chapchalk Quote
Thanks...those are two of the many videos I watched. I should add two of the best videos. I just wonder if k3 is too much of a camera for me.
If it is you can always grow into it if your willing to put in the work

11-08-2013, 05:10 PM   #5
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The K-30 is a very capable camera, and it doesn't lack much as an upper entry-level/mid-range DSLR IMO. The main advantage of the K-3 will be faster speed and even better image quality. But it's also a bit more complicated than the K-30, so you've got to ask yourself: do you need the extra features and the added level of complexity?