Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-11-2013, 01:28 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Overcast and overexposed

I'm not really a beginner, but I always have tons if questions. Also, I have no way to upload my photos at the moment, but I'll try to attach them later.

Is it normal for photos to be overexposed when the sky is overcast? I was out today under very bright overcast sky, and quite a few of my photos were overexposed when there was sky included in the frame. I was in aperture priority and center-weighted metering. New K-500 and DA 40 Limited. I checked the aperture lever, and the blade movement seems smooth.

I dialed in -1 exposure compensation, and the pics were better, and some shots I took were fine. If the sky is bright, why wouldn't the pics be underexposed?

11-11-2013, 01:41 PM   #2
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by DennisH Quote
center-weighted metering
If the subject matter in the center area of your scene was dark, then the center weighting would be the reason.
11-11-2013, 01:45 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Thanks for responding. It wasn't dark; it was a tree across a pond in Central Park. Also, I think I took a shot with matrix metering with similar results. I'll have to check.
11-11-2013, 01:46 PM   #4
Site Supporter

Yeah, it sounds normal. You as a photographer have to allow for the extremes in the lighting. A light or bright overcast sky is brighter that a clear blue sky and may overexpose. Try full-frame (or multi-segment) metering rather than centre weighted. Or make sure the sky is in about 1/2 of the metering field and then lock the exposure.