Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-19-2013, 04:49 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
K-5 AF Questions

I've heard some people say the K-5 has a slow auto focus. Today was my first real experience with the camera. I am sorry to say quite a few shots are indeed out of focus. Basically any shot where the subject was moving (my brother working on his truck). He really wasn't moving that fast! But my shutter speeds varied from 1/25 to 1/160 and my ISO varied from 200 to 1600. I also noticed a real issue with dynamic range. The background is all washed out in photos taken inside of his truck. I took shots with and without fill flash. He's well-exposed but the scenery behind him outside the truck is all washed out. Not sure why this is so. It was cloudy at the time. Not so bright, really.

Hoping it's just because I'm new to the camera.

Which focus mode is fastest? The center point only?

I admit I have not yet read the manual thoroughly. But I thought program mode would get the job done.

(NOTE: I added some samples from my first K-5 outing below. 8:30pm EDT)

Thanks

Last edited by DavidSKAF3; 11-19-2013 at 06:53 PM. Reason: additional info
11-19-2013, 04:53 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by davids8560 Quote