Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-04-2013, 09:01 AM   #1
Unregistered User

Pentax 18-135 lens motor durability

I have had some rather unpleasant experiences with fragile HSM motor in Sigma lenses in the past. Since then, I have avoided lenses with built-in motor. I am now considering getting a Pentax 18-135 as a Christmas gift for someone who is very enthusiastic about this lens. I, however, do not share this enthusiasm, given my experiences the HSM of Sigma.

My question: is the motor to be found in Pentax lenses built along the same lines as Sigma's HSM?

I have doubts about the mechanical durability/reliabilty of lenses with built-in motor in general. Anyone else who shares this scepticism?

Dom

12-04-2013, 09:10 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
All lenses with motors like HSM or SDM can fail at some point and probably will. Gone are the days of a 20-30 year old perfectly operational AF lens. That will be less likely to find vs a old manual focus lens from 20-30 years ago. That being said, I would not care to go back to manual focusing all the time and I am willing to accept the possibility of failure. I currently have no less than 6 lenses with SDM or DC motors and they are all working fine. I have only had one SDM motor go out on me and I had it repaired and went on about my business.
Saying all that, the DC motor of the 18-135mm is probably one of the most reliable in the Pentax line-up.

YMMV
12-04-2013, 09:13 AM   #3
Unregistered User

QuoteOriginally posted by GaryH Quote