Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-08-2013, 12:04 PM   #1

trouble with focus - newbie here

Hi, I am brand new to this forum and also brand new to DSLR. I have a Pentax kx. I have taken some wonderful pictures. I have the DAL 55 -300 lens.
The problem I have been having right from the beginning however is, I have trouble with the focus on this lens when I try to get a close up. It just whirs and whirs and doesn't focus at all. (I have been doing some reading and understand this to be "hunting"o If I try to press the shutter button it won't work. I am fine when it is at a distance from the object but when I try to get close. Forget it.
I am new to all this so please be gentle with me. What am I doing wrong?????
Thanks

12-08-2013, 12:12 PM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
How close are you to the object you're trying to focus on? All lenses have a " minimum focus distance," which means an object needs to be inches or, in some cases, feet away in order for the lens to focus. So, if a certain lens has an 8 inch minimum focus, anything less than 8 inches from the lens physically cannot be in focus.

Hope that makes sense!
12-08-2013, 12:18 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You don't say how close you are trying. You may be getting to close for the lens to focus. There is a minimum distance that a lens can focus at. Try backing up a bit and see if that helps.
Welcome to the Forums

I type to slow
12-08-2013, 12:19 PM   #4

Looking at the review database, that lens has a minimum focus of 55 inches.

12-08-2013, 12:30 PM   #5

Original Poster
Wow! Thanks for this information. I didn't realize that I couldn't get close to flowers etc. What lens would be a good choice if I want to take closeups of flowers?
12-08-2013, 12:37 PM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter