Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-15-2013, 10:13 AM   #1

18-55mm F3.5-F5.6 question

Hi all.

So, I'm a newbie where it comes to DSLR technology, and this is probably a stupid question so if it offends you, please disregard.

I recently procured a Pentax K50 with a 18-55mm F3.5-F5.6 WR lens. Why can I set my camera to higher F-stops than the lens supports? The thumbwheel will allow me to set it up as high as F29.

Does it only stop down to F5.6 and slower settings on the body are irrelevant/ignored? Or does the camera somehow 'simulate' a slower aperature?

Thanks...

12-15-2013, 10:25 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
F-stop is a mathematical formula derived from the physical characteristics of a lens. At any given focal length, the f/stop is focal length of the lens divided by the diameter of aperture. So when you look through your lens and move the stop down lever, you will see a hole open and close. The size of the hole is fixed, but the focal length of your lens changes when you zoom. The f/stop number becomes larger as the focal length becomes longer. This is shown on the front of your lens as F3.5-F5.6. At 18 mm, the largest hole is f/3.5. At 55mm the hole is only good for f/5.6. The effect of this is that at a given ISO setting (sensitivity, reaction to less/more light) the shutter speed will slow down as you zoom to allow the same total number of lumens to the sensor or film, and you should be able to see it in your viewfinder. It will get darker as you zoom into a scene.

Some lenses, such as my DA* 16-50 f/2.8 actually keep the same f/stop over the zoom range. The lens changes the size of the aperture to compensate when I zoom. The disadvantage to this is a much higher price and the lens weighs a ton. The advantage to this is that I don't "lose" any light as I zoom.