Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-15-2013, 05:23 PM   #1

Want to get a Pentax Camera. [Video, Beginner]

Hi,

I'm completely new to forums. I want to buy a Pentax camera, mainly because there are already 3 (K20D, K200D, K-m) in my family and there's a boatload of lenses to pick from. I have limited experience with all of them, and am happy with using manual focus and manual exposure/aperture.

I was eyeing K-30 and K-01, but apparently they both have only H.264 with very limited bitrate. I have no problem with H.264, but having more bitrate would be nice. Can anyone confirm that? Is one better than the other in terms of video quality? Is there another Pentax camera that does H.264 better? Any chance pentax will up bitrate with a firmware update?
Is k-50 better than K-30 for shooting movies? As far as I understand they're very similar.

Thanks.

12-15-2013, 05:54 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Ploki Quote
Hi,

I'm completely new to forums. I want to buy a Pentax camera, mainly because there are already 3 (K20D, K200D, K-m) in my family and there's a boatload of lenses to pick from. I have limited experience with all of them, and am happy with using manual focus and manual exposure/aperture.

I was eyeing K-30 and K-01, but apparently they both have only H.264 with very limited bitrate. I have no problem with H.264, but having more bitrate would be nice. Can anyone confirm that? Is one better than the other in terms of video quality? Is there another Pentax camera that does H.264 better? Any chance pentax will up bitrate with a firmware update?
Is k-50 better than K-30 for shooting movies? As far as I understand they're very similar.

Thanks.