Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-20-2007, 08:48 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Newbie firmware question

Hi everyone!
I'm quite new to digital slr's and have never had to do a firmware update on a camera. I have a new k100d and it has version 1.00 on it. I downloaded the new firmware onto my computer and now I have a few questions before I try to install it. Frankly, I am scared to do it because I don't want to screw it up and send my camera back to pentax!
Anyhow, I dont have a card reader on my computer, so I have to copy the firmware onto my sd card by inserting the card into the camera, and then connecting the camera to the computer.
Ok, so in the directions it says:

Copy the above Firmware file [fwdc156b.bin] to the root directory in
the SD card.
If your computer does not have a card slot, you can copy the firmware
update file by inserting the SD card into your camera and then connecting
the camera directly to your computer.

2. If the camera power is on, turn it off.

3. Insert the update SD card (prepared in step 1) into the camera.

4. Connect the AC adapter to the camera.
If you are using a rechargeable battery, make sure that it is fully
charged, and if you are using batteries that are not rechargeable,
make sure that they are fresh batteries.

5. Turn the camera power on while pressing the MENU button.

Its step 2 that is confusing me a bit. In order for me to see the sd card on my computer (under my computer/removable devices), I have to turn the camera on. I'm probably reading more into this than I really should! Do I connect the camera to the PC, turn the camera on to find the sd card listed under removable devices, then drag the .bin file to the sd card?? I guess I am just confused because it says the camera has to be off, but the only way I can see the sd card to put the firmware file in is for the camera to be on....
Please help!!!! I'm a little slow when it comes to computers sometimes!!